News:

Register to access all areas...it's FREE!
Please update your bookmarks to www.papermodelforum.com
Let us know if something isn't working properly for you.

Main Menu

Greetings from Carlisle, PA!

Started by ammcmillin, October 17, 2016, 03:30:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ammcmillin

Hello!

My name is Ann, and I am relatively new to the world of paper models. My husband and I stumbled upon this fascinating hobby while attending the Army Heritage Days in Carlisle a few years ago, and my husband was immediately hooked! He loves the boats and planes, while I have been more interested by the animals and cartoon characters.

I am becoming a bit of a paper model hoarder, because too many times I have followed a dead link to THE model I wanted to make. Now, I have dedicated flash drives filled with model files, "just in case" I ever get the urge to make them. LOL!

In recent days, I have been struggling with finding A4 paper. Many of the designs done with the Pepakura designer that I've been getting are formatted for the A4 paper, and it's not easy to find! My planned workaround is to print them out on legal sized paper instead, but even legal doesn't seem to be available in all the different paper weights. How do you work around the A4 issue?

Ann

Burning Beard

Welcome Ann,

Check with Staples (or maybe Office Depot) on line,  I think you can order 65# legal cardstock, and they will deliver it postage free to your nearest store.

Beard

Vermin King

That's what I would do, if I really wanted to do it on A4, but I usually just print to pdf, then open the pdf's in Gimp and re-arrange to fit on letter.

Welcome to the forum
There are no strangers in this world ...
Only people I haven't embarrassed ... yet

Dave Winfield

Hi Ann

You know, most A4 model pages, (unless they have been completely filled edge to edge) will print on a Letter page.
Just make sure you set No Margins.
And watch the top and bottom coverage.